Swedish Action Movies

For some reason the recommendation analytics of various web sites have developed a schizophrenic reaction to what they think I like. Take Amazon for example. Somehow they have decided I like romance novels with Fabio on the cover. Now I’m not really sure because I don’t read romance novels but wasn’t Fabio big in the nineties? Does that mean that Amazon thinks I’ll like old romance novels or that Fabio has some reverse Dorian Grey thing going on where he’s perpetually young on book covers? I don’t even think he’s still hawking I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter. Maybe Amazon thinks I like these books because I looked up what they put in the yellow glop that’s not butter?

Netflix is no exception to this rule. Because I watched the Girl With the Dragon Tattoo they decided I liked foreign action films. Some of them are pretty cool, in Ong-Bak: Muay Thai Warrior Tony Jaa stomps his way through the Thai scenery without any wires or CGI. It’s the kind of movie you can watch with the sound off. The French got in on the action bonanza with District B-13 in which David Belle the Parkour expert bounces his way through an Escape From Paris. Apparently the French government hasn’t mastered the art of blackmailing Snake Plisskin yet because aside from the French it looks like every other Escape From movie I’ve ever seen.

The crux of this meandering story is that Netflix has now decided that my absolute favorite movies are Scandinavian action movies. I wasn’t even aware that there were enough Scandinavian action movies to be a category by themselves. Ingmar Bergman move your dreary self over it’s time for Vikings and Private Eyes and Nazi Zombies all speaking like the Swedish Chef from the Muppets. Roon! Zeere-a ere-a Nezee Zumbeees in zee snoo thet hefe-a cume-a tu iet oooor breeens. Um gesh dee bork, bork!   That’s Død Snø (Dead Snow) – the Norwegian Nazi-zombie-action-comedy was chosen for Sundance 2009.

I think I’ll go watch some more strange movies made in distant lands. Which one do you think I should watch first?

Amelie
Let the Right One In
Head- On (german film)
Kama Sutra: A Tale of Love
The Beat That My Heart Skipped
Pan’s Labyrinth
The Motorcycle Diaries
Y Tu Mama Tambien
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
Oldboy
8 1/2
Diabolique
Goldfish Memory
Chungking Express
City of God
House of Flying Daggers
Volver
Black Book
The Lives of Others
Run Lola Run
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Russian Dolls
Brotherhood of the Wolf
Dans Paris
La Dolce Vita

Memories of Murder
Lady Vengeance
Nikita
Delicatessen
City of the Lost Children
Maria Full of Grace
Three Colors Trilogy
Infernal Affairs
Sonatine
Gomorrah
Memory of a Killer
The Orphanage
Gooodbye Lenin!
High Tension
Breaking News
The Proposition
Le Vie en Rose

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Swedish Action Movies

  1. Patrick says:

    Watch Jackie Chan movies! The chefs are Chinese but they still wield a mean clever.

  2. Jenny H says:

    Two of those movies I’ve seen you SHOULD watch:

    Let the Right One In
    Brotherhood of the Wolf (one of my all-time favorite movies EVER)

    eesh, Ima so bosee bork bork

    • chikuba says:

      You’re the second one to recommend Let the Right One In. Though I watched Dead Snow because I heard you or James mention it somewhere. Between you and Stieg Larrson I’m never going to get anything in English recommended every again!

Leave a Reply

